Skip to main content

Survivor 1: Borneo

Survivor 1: Borneo (a k a Survivor: Pulau Tiga) was filmed on the Malaysian island of Pulau Tiga in the South China Sea. The island was formed on September 21, 1897 when an earthquake on the Philippine island of Mindanao triggered a volcanic eruption just north of Borneo which formed a new island 20 meters wide. Pulau Tiga is 10 km offshore of the island of Borneo, to the northeast of the country of Brunei.

The island lies near the equator and is located in a rain forest climatic zone with a temperature range of 22°-33°C with constant monsoon seasons that unremittingly pound both the islands of Pulau Tiga and Malaysia. Pulau Tiga houses a variety of interesting animal species including poisonous sea snakes, proboscis, macaque monkeys, flying foxes, bats, sharks, monitor lizards, barracuda, sea turtles, and a plethora of birds.

The location of Survivor Borneo in the South China Sea 2°27`56.23``N 104°30`11.66``E